Where Does Elden Ring Take Place

- Advertisement -

We all know that Elden Ring captured the imagination of gamers worldwide. Unsurprisingly, the most common question is where Elden Ring takes place.

The game, created by Hidetaka Miyazaki, takes place in a vast and dangerous world called The Lands Between. The world is full of mystery, and it was co-created by George R.R. Martin, an American author and television producer you may know from Game of Thrones and House of Dragon.

The Lands Between, the Erdtree, and the Elden Ring

The Lands Between is a kingdom situated beneath the Erdtree, an enormous spectral tree that can be seen from almost all parts of the game. The Erdtree is a large shining tree in Lands Between that emits a bright golden-yellow aura over the peaceful inhabitants.

It is powered by the mighty Elden Ring, an object with unlimited power that is controlled by the Goddess Queen Marika the Eternal and her husband Godfrey, the first Elden Lord. Godfrey’s title is held so sacredly that no one else has been able to hold it. However, your own story has yet to be written.

History Of Elden Ring

Queen Marika the Eternal used to govern this land, and during her reign, the area flourished. The Elden Ring is a highly potent spell that subjected everything in The Lands Between to a Greater Will – a divine plan that kept everything in order. 

However, something went wrong, and the Elden Ring was broken, causing the Greater Will to leave the Lands Between. Queen Marika vanished, and her offspring fought an epic and terrible struggle known as the Shattering, eventually obtaining various fragments of the now-broken Elden Ring, which nevertheless possesses enormous power.

The game’s environment is expansive and dense, with each main section jam-packed with locations to explore, little tidbits that help you better grasp the game’s environment, and dangerous creatures to battle. Each region has its own unique aesthetic, idiosyncrasies, and overall atmosphere, adding depth and intrigue to the game’s world.

- Advertisement -

The World Of Elden Ring

The regions in Elden Ring are: Limgrave, Crumbling Farum Azula, Lake of Rot, Consecrated Snowfield, Deeproot Depths, Nokron, Eternal City/Siofra River, Nokstella, Eternal City/Ainsel River, Miquella’s Haligtree, Leyndell, Royal Capital, Weeping Peninsula, Liurnia of the Lakes, Caelid, Altus Plateau, Mt. Gelmir, Dragonbarrow, and Mountaintops of the Giants.

The world of Elden Ring, The Lands Between, has been meticulously designed by its creators with a lot of attention to detail and a deep backstory. The fact that George R.R. Martin has contributed to the game’s worldbuilding has generated a lot of buzz among fans of both Martin and the game’s director, Miyazaki. 

Martin’s writing has given the realm a complex history, with relationships and powers that players are excited to explore.


The lands of Elden Ring are a unique and mysterious world full of secrets and dangers. With George R.R. Martin’s storytelling expertise, the game has been loaded with incredible detail and complexity that will keep players engaged for hours while they explore its depths. 

Players can look forward to uncovering the mysteries of The Lands Between as they venture through this vibrant and captivating world.

- Advertisement -
Elden Ring

Game Name: Elden Ring

Available on: PS5, PS4, XBox Series, XBOX One, PC.

Developers: FromSoftware

Release Date: 25 February 2022

- Advertisement -
Buy Now

Related articles